Warm Bodies – Book review

The first time I heard about Warm Bodies was from watching the trailer for the movie version. I thought it looked cool, and like the kinda movie I would wanna watch. But, when I saw that the movie was based on a book, I thought to myself, I wanna read this book before I watch the movie. But because I live in Denmark, not every single book is available. This was one of those books. So I kinda gave up on it, and eventually also forgot about the movie.
However, travelling back from Florida, I was looking trough a bookstore in an airport, and Warm Bodies caught my eye. I immediately bought the book. I spend the next many hours in the airport, and the 10 hour plane ride home, to finish the book. And I had very mixed feelings about Warm Bodies.
The book is written by Isaac Marion.

Here is the summary from the back cover of the book:

R is having a no-life crisis – he is a zombie. He has no memories, no identity, and no pulse, but he is a little different from his fellow Dead. He may occasionally eat people, but he’d rather be riding abandoned airport escalators, listening to Sinatra in the cozy 474 he calls home, or collecting souvenirs from the ruins of civilization.
And then he meets a girl.
First as his captive, then his reluctant house guest, Julie is a blast of living color in R’s gray landscape, and something inside him begins to bloom. He doesn’t want to eat this girl – although she looks delicious – he wants to protect her. But their unlikely bond will cause ripples they can’t even imagine, and their hopeless world won’t change without a fight.

So basically, R, the main character, is a zombie. He lives a boring, uninteresting live. Basically walking back and forth in this airport, where he lives. Occasionally, eating some human brain. The thing is, when the zombies eat human brain, all of the persons memories and feelings, goes right through them. They get to experience their lives and emotions. R eats the brain of Julie’s boyfriend, and immediately falls for her. Starting out as a tiny spark, but is enough to start a domino effect.

The book is kinda slow in the beginning, the problem is, zombies don’t talk. At least not more than  a few words at a time, which means that the only conversation for the most part, is in R’s head. This makes it really slow and just a little, tiny, bit boring sometimes. However, the conversation in his head, is pretty interesting. He is a smart guy…zombie…man….whatever he is, and you really get the story from inside of the “Bad guy”s head. However, a bit too much, walking around doing nothing, for my taste, but that’s just me. A love myself a good dialog, and when Julie arrives, you get that. I like Julie, she is a bright light, in a dark world. Her and R’s relationship is not some silly, “OMG, I’ve known you for 30 minutes, I love you”, kinda relationships, it seems natural, as natural as a relationship between a woman and a zombie can be.

All in all, I like this book. It gives an interesting point of view, kinda slow sometimes, but it’s not too bad. I say give it a go:)

I give Warm Bodies 4 out of 6 stars

warm-bodies (1)

What do you think? The book or the movie?
Please let me know in the comments ❤

Leave a comment